Music From Your Heart

thanksgiving

 

 

If you are filled with the Spirit, it will be recognizable. People should be able to see a difference between you and somebody who isn’t filled with the Spirit. How will they know? Because if you are full of the Holy Ghost, you will have a song in your heart. What does it mean to have a song in your heart? It means you’ve got joy!

The Bible says, “For the kingdom of God is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and JOY in the Holy Ghost” (Rom. 14:17). If you are full of joy, it will show on your face. You may even dance, sing, or laugh. Sometimes when you’re full of joy, you can’t keep from laughing, even when you’re by yourself!

So you see, being filled with the Spirit means you’ll have joy and a song in your heart. Now, I don’t mean some song that you get out of a songbook. The songs we sing in church are fine. We ought to sing them. But they didn’t have any songbooks that they passed out to the congregation back in the Apostle Paul’s day.

Paul is talking about psalms and hymns and spiritual songs. He is describing something that the Holy Ghost gives you. These songs come from your heart on the spur of the moment. They are given to us by the Spirit to help us.

I’ve noticed that in the hard places of my life, I would begin speaking in psalms and spiritual songs. In some of the most severe places,

Do you remember that Jesus said to His disciples, “I’ll not leave you comfortless”? (See John 14:18.) He asked the Father to send “another Comforter,” the Holy Spirit. The Amplified Bible translates the word Comforter as “Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, and Standby” (John 14:16). The Holy Ghost is our Standby. He’s standing by to help us in the hard places in life. And those psalms He gave me helped me. They were a comfort to me.

 

http://www.rhema.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1049:have-a-song-in-your-heart&Itemid=145

5 thoughts on “Music From Your Heart

  1. I’m not sure what you are trying to say. I also follow Jesus commands and I have a beautiful, intimate relationship with Him. He speaks to me in various ways including through scripture every day. Are you commenting on singing in the Holy Spirit? If so I don’t need council on commandments for that. Sorry just confused. I don’t argue doctrinal educational knowledge. Jesus doesn’t look at our resumes to determine if we are in line with His word. He guides us with the Holy Spirit and only cares about our hearts.

    Like

  2. I respectfully ask you to please stop trying to pursuade me the the bible today isnt accurate. Ijust realized you are the Paul attacker. I dont know why you are insisting to try and change my mind. I will not ever follow your line of thinking… sorry please stop

    Like

Leave a Reply

