A Testimony

tree

This scripture is by far my favorite.  I have come to love them all of course, but this one holds special meaning to me.  You see it was the very first scripture God showed me after He woke me up.

I was raised in the church, Nearly every uncle I have was a minister, I even recall discussing the rapture and tribulation at around 10 years old with my cousin.  But I knew him most of my life in name only.  I didn’t have a sincere relationship, until…

Until a fateful weekend in 2015 which He looked me right in the heart and woke me up.  After that weekend I was never the same… I NEEDED to get my heart right, but I didn’t know where to start. The bible was full of wisdom, I knew so many scriptures, but I didn’t KNOW them.  So in His kindness, He took me to that scripture above where I just left my bible open on a table in my bedroom.  I would read it every time I walked by it.  As the weeks went by, the scripture “took root” if you will. That single scripture and His ministering through it, began a passion for Him I had never known.

Until one day I caught myself quietly singing Amazing Grace as I was moving about the house.  I got to the verse “I was blind but now I see” And there … right there I was suddenly aware of what He had done for me.  All the years of teachings suddenly grew weight…. I saw the cross, the love, the sacrifice, the love, the long suffering, the love, the wrath, the love, the endless, powerful, beyond measure, loving God of Moses, Jacob, Noah, Daniel, the disciples, my precious God met me right where I was and told me…

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15

rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness. Colossians 2:7

Delight yourself also in the LordAnd He shall give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

“I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing” .John 15:5

 He has spent every day since ministering to me through His word and growing in me, to where every day now I pray to be poured out and become who He created me to be.  It is such a beautiful and humbling life He is developing and will continue to work in me until the day He takes me Home to be with Him.

I love His correction, even though I may not always like it at the time.  I love His still small voice when I turn my concerns over to Him.  It’s just such an honor to know that everywhere I go, every struggle I face, every joy I experience, every fear, every blessing… there He is to teach, to comfort, to give rest, to give strength, to give peace, to be in control at all times, no matter what my eyes see.

And for this I say with a most grateful heart… In Jesus name… Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

