Long Suffering

promises

There are times in our faith, that it will be tested to what we feel is more than we can handle. During those times, it can be hard to remember it is part of His work in us for our good.

Yesterday, although He prepared me with the above scripture, I lost sight of it in the midst of a moment where my patience was pushed to the brink.  I, in my selfish fleshly heart became indignant that my efforts often seem to fall into a chasm.  I was ready to walk away from what He called me to do and just go back to focusing on myself.

And as Jesus often does, He allows us to have our temper tantrums and then when the heart is ready to listen again, He gently and lovingly corrects.

Today He ministered to me throughout the day about my impatience.   He reminded me of that scripture over and over, along with what He said about going the distance.

And whoever compels you to go one mile, go with him two. Matthew 5:41 (NKJV)

He also reminded me that HE placed the calling there.  Even if I quit,  I would never stop being called.  He has a plan for me, and it was shameful of me to forget that I only see what is in front of me.  He knows the whole picture, I don’t.

The truth is, it isn’t about how much effort I put in.  I will never sacrifice even an ounce of what Jesus did.  I will never come close to enduring His long suffering even BEFORE the cross or  how about God’s long suffering with me as I blantantly disregarded my Holy Creator, my Abba Father, THE Alpha And Omega most of my life.  And I became so humbled at my pitiful little sacrifices, which I foolishly felt for a moment, were too heavy to bear. Thankfully, He is a very loving God. Thankfully we live under grace.  Thankfully He is there to catch me when I slip.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9 (NKJV)

Thank you Lord.  Although I so often fall short, you still cast my sins away and wash me white as snow.

As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us. Psalm 103:12 (KJV)

 

Leave a Reply

